DETROIT: Become Human Kara Soundtrack

April 2018

  • Game Designer David Cage
  • Music Supervisor Mary Lockwood
  • Audio Lead Aurelien Baguerre
  • Music By Philip Sheppard
  • Recorded At Abbey Road Studios
  • Conductor Philip Sheppard
  • Director of Operations for Philip Sheppard Chris Walch
  • Recorded By Andrew Dudman
  • Score Mixer Andrew Dudman
  • Pro Tools Engineer Gordon Davidson & Matt Jones
  • Score Prepared By Andrew Foster
  • Orchestra English Session Orchestra
  • Contractor Dom Kelly
  • Orchestra Coordinator Jojo Aravanitis
  • With Thanks To Abbey Road Studios
Buy DETROIT: Become Human

Order the game with the Digital Soundtrack

Buy DETROIT: Become Human

Collector’s Edition Soundtrack (Upgrade) within the Digital Deluxe Edition

Stream Music

Stream the entire soundtrack on Spotify

Stream Music

Stream the entire soundtrack on Apple Music

Music to Picture

Philip composed and recorded the soundtrack for the character, Kara, in Sony PS4’s and Quantic Dream’s highly acclaimed video game, DETROIT: Become Human, which released on May 25, 2018.

DETROIT: Become Human is the brainchild of video game designer, David Cage, who has been working on “multi-character” storytelling for several years. The game features 3 main characters, androids: Kara, Markus, and Connor.

David wanted to push the idea of multi-character storytelling as far as he could, by having three different composers (one per character) with radically different musical styles, three different moods, three different cinematographies, so that the player has a sense of playing three different games as they move from one character to another. Philip described the experience of writing Kara’s soundtrack with the Quantic Dream team as incredibly unique and rewarding, and he is so proud of the final result.

Kara’s score was performed by the English Session Orchestra and the music was recorded at Abbey Road Studios in the legendary Studio 1. Sound Engineer extraordinaire, Andrew Dudman, worked tirelessly with Philip on creating the final mix. The music, however, would not live the way it does in the game without the musical witchcraft of Mary Lockwood, music supervisor, and Aurelien Baguerre, audio lead. Enjoy a live performance by Philip of Kara’s main theme:

Philip performs and breaks down his process of writing and recording Kara’s them in Spitfire’s Under The Hood series:

Philip goes deep with Spitfire Audio in their September 2018 Masterclass Journal in his writing and recording process for the emotionally charged Dark Night Scene:

For a sneak peek into Philip’s musical process for Kara and for the other characters in the game, check out Sony’s behind-the-scenes film above.

DETROIT: Become Human is available now with the Digital Soundtrack, or the Collector’s Edition Soundtrack (Upgrade) within the Digital Deluxe Edition. You can read more about the game at its official game site.

The soundtrack for DETROIT: Become Human is available now for streaming on Spotify and Apple Music. Please enjoy a Spotify Playlist we created of the various works of the soundtrack’s 3 composers – Philip Sheppard, Nima Fakhrara and John Paesano.

“If that’s the case, and we’ll soon be living with walking-and-talking Artificial Intelligence: fuck our lives. But still, if our lives must be fucked, then please can we have Philip Sheppard’s beautiful compositions playing in the background – all the cellos moving in wonder together as the final sequence of our life plays out in slow motion like a scene from a science fiction film. That’s a dark image, sure. If we’re going to go out that way though, then that’s the way I want to go.” – Noisey / Vice Music Review